top of page

The Motivation

When the first project was created I had no conceptual understanding of genre. Then, as time progressed in class, I began to understand that genres were simply modes of communication. Once I understood that, choosing my topic was a relatively easy task. I played football for twelve years of my life, and I have had to deal with various coaches and the way in which to speak to them. I thought to myself, why not just write about nonverbal tendencies of coaches because that always seemed so tricky when I was a player. By that, I mean learning how to talk to different coaches in varying ways to get the result I desired. In fact, some coaches were better to not to talk to if I needed something, just show them on the field and they would respond. Project two was a little more difficult for me. My style of writing requires me to defend as I go, that way I know that my research directly correlates with my thesis. When I did the research summary before the actual paper, I found that much of my research was useless because my writing took me down a different path when it came time to write the paper. When I wrote, I discovered my topic was too big, so I narrowed project two’s topic to the three main leadership styles in sport; rather than tackling all leadership styles. Once I narrowed my topic, the paper was easy to write. I discuss in the paper the exigence of why leadership in coaching matters, and went on to detail the means or genres in which those coaches communicate in. What must be noted from project one and two is that sport, not just football, had a tremendous impact on my life due to the people that I was surrounded by and the lessons I was taught. I urge my readers to understand that football is a game, but it, like so many other sports, has exponential potential to revolutionize someone’s life. I urge my readers to understand that sport is applicable to all walks of life, and that the lessons learned are not situational, they are life lasting.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page